Pandora: Radio Just for You

March 15, 2013

Ian Kim
4 Feb. 2013
FD1
Word Count = 851

Music plays a huge role in many of our lives. We listen to music while working, exercising, relaxing, and for some even while sleeping. It’s played everywhere you go. It can be used to calm you or comfort you, amp you up or maybe just to help you pass the time. For most of us, the most likely way we get our music is through broadcast radio. Standard broadcast radio stations try to satisfy everyone by playing a bunch of songs that they think you want to hear or what’s popular. But you can’t satisfy everyone all the time. People are unique, and now there is a radio company that understands this, Pandora. [THESIS] Pandora is the new, unique, fun and interactive way to experience radio music. [THESIS]

Pandora Radio.

Pandora Radio.

Pandora internet radio can be downloaded to any smart phone. Whether you have an iOS or Android device, you can start listening to the music you like to hear for free. It’s even available through your computer’s web browser. Pandora allows you to create up to one hundred of your own radio stations based on your favorite songs and artists. Pandora is also a very light application; it uses less than 14 MB of storage. Pandora, however, does require a data connection such as Wi-Fi, but it can run just fine off a phone’s 3G signal.

Pandora was created with the following in mind, as stated on Pandora’s website, “We believe that each individual has a unique relationship with music – no one else has tastes exactly like yours” (“About Pandora”). In my opinion, since no two people are the same, everyone has a unique perspective, especially when it comes to music. Pandora tries to create a unique experience for each listener. If I feel like listening to some metal music such as Metallica, then I type that in and receive a personalized station with Metallica and similar music. If I want some soothing piano instrumentals, I can put in Yiruma, and that’s what I get.

I’m no longer limited to the music singles that broadcast radio plays. They even plays tracks that weren’t considered some of the artist’s hit singles. Pandora plays anything you want it to. My classmate, Joel Kawamae, said, “It has a massive collection of songs that covers a wide variety of genres.” Pandora has more types of music than I can think of. Every time I listen to it, I discover something new. I have been exposed to many new artists from different genres thanks to Pandora, and I am not alone. Classmate Maile Hong had this to say: “I think it’s such an awesome app to have especially because it broadens your music preference.” Pandora also allows you to connect to your favorite social media such as Facebook and Twitter. This way you can share your discoveries with your friends. You can even see what your friends are listening to if they are connected to Pandora.

Pandora allows you to interact with it by giving you options such as “thumbs up” if you like a song and “thumbs down” if you don’t. This allows Pandora to actively try and make the station more personalized for you. Pandora even has a feature that will put a song on the side for a while if you want it to. The more you interact with Pandora, the better it gets at finding great music for you.

Another great feature is that it doesn’t take up a lot of valuable space on your phone. I have a large archive of music files on a secondary hard drive on my computer. If I had to store my playlists on my phone I wouldn’t have any space left for all those fun games and apps. I could carry my iPod everywhere, but I don’t want to since I already have my iPhone. My classmate, Morgan Vreeland, said, “I lost my iTunes a while back, and I haven’t had a music library since. But I can listen to all my favorite songs on Pandora and change the genre or song whenever I want so I don’t really need my own library anymore.” Pandora eliminates the need to store gigabytes of music on your device. I’m even considering freeing up some of the space on my computer’s secondary hard drive thanks to Pandora.

Pandora is a great app. For a music lover like me, it is like a dream jukebox. I can pick what I want, and Pandora takes care of the rest. I don’t have to shuffle through stacks of CDs, sit at a computer scanning through an archive of music files, or take the time to create playlists. With Pandora being featured in the iTunes App Store Hall of Fame and CNET including it as one of their picks for “Best Apps for iPhone 2012,” there must be many others that feel the way I do. Pandora is even becoming a standard feature on other devices such as TVs, Blu-ray players, and car navigation systems. Pandora is changing the way we experience music on the radio, and I think it’s about time.

Works Cited

“About Pandora.” Pandora.com, n.d. Web. 28 Jan. 2013 [http://www.pandora.com/about].

“Best Apps for iPhone 2012.” CNET, n.d. 28 Jan. 2013 [http://download.cnet.com/2701-19704_4-1420-4.html?tag=dlStarterKitCatLinks.0].

Hong, Maile. “Pandora Radio.” Laulima Discussion. University of Hawaii, 24 Jan. 2013. Web. 28 Jan, 2013.

“iTunes Preview: Pandora Radio.” itunes.apple.com. 17 Nov. 2012. Web. 28 Jan. 2013 [https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/pandora-radio/id284035177?mt=8].

Kawamae, Joel. “Pandora Radio.” Laulima Discussion. University of Hawaii, 24 Jan. 2013. Web. 28 Jan. 2013.

Parker, Jason. “Pandora for iOS Review: Create Stations Using Your Favorite Artists.” CNET, 1 Nov. 2012. Web. 28 Jan. 2013 [http://reviews.cnet.com/software/pandora-radio-ios/4505-3513_7-35426802.html].

Vreeland, Morgan. “Pandora Radio.” Laulima Discussion. University of Hawaii, 24 Jan. 2013. Web. 28 Jan. 2013.

Leave a Reply

